Luxuries become necessities

25 02 2008

Star Movies, ESPN, HBO……I don’t even remember when i last watched these pay channels…Its been a long while….With my college days over, I’m sitting at home, killing time and waiting for my date of joining… boredom was killing me… until i got the set top box… it got away with my boredom… 18 hrs a day i was in front of the idiot box … switching from one channel to the other…
I couldn’t imagine what people who sit at home all day would do without a TV… yeah I know there were times when there was no TV and crap… But it’s not the same… Once you enjoy something you’ll always want to have it… It’s like smoking… You get addicted… You will not be able to live without it… try it out… Try not using the mobile phone for a day… And you’ll understand…That’s how it is… technology invents something… at first it’s a luxury item…. Once people start using it … it becomes a necessity….and the companies laugh all the way to the bank… It’s all consumerism…. Ten years back a mobile phone or a car was a luxury… now it’s become a necessity… in a way I like it… because this necessity makes my dad buy me these goodies…. Hmmm… I’m still waiting for those days when the jet becomes a necessity  …. It’s not far away… with the vehicles on the road increasing everyday… that’ll be the only way to beat traffic.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

